Tags

, , , , ,

pumpkins

I have been MIA. I apologize. That is what happens when you work at a univeristy by day and the start of the semester happens. You. Have. No. Life. But it is a few weeks in and things seem to be semi calming down both work wise and weather wise! Though highs in the 80’s mean Fall here, I will use any excuse to get out my pumpkin collection and pumpkin based recipes. Here is a first of many I am sure.

Pumpkin Spice Bundt (adapted from Kraft Foods)

Ingredients

  • 1 pkg.  (2-layer size) spice cake mix
  • 1 pkg.  (8 oz.) Cream Cheese, softened, divided
  • 1 cup  canned pumpkin(The little can! I bought the big can and froze the leftover)
  • 1 tsp.  ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp.  ground ginger
  • 1-1/2 pkg.   Semi-Sweet Chocolate (6 oz total.), coarsely chopped (I used semi sweet chips)

Icing:

  • 1/2 cup  thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping
  • 2 Tbsp.  sugar
  • Remaining cream cheese from above

Ingredients

Preheat oven to 350°F. Prepare cake mix as directed on package, reducing water to 1/2 cup and increasing oil to 1/2 cup (My box already called for ½ cup oil). Add half of the cream cheese, the pumpkin, cinnamon and ginger. Beat on medium speed until well blended.(I still had some chunks of cream cheese even using my Kitchen Aid.) Stir in chopped chocolate or other add ins. Pour into greased 12-cup Bundt pan.

BAKE 40 to 45 min. or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. (My oven cooks quickly and 38 min was enough) Cool.

(I didn’t makw the topping and it is plently sweet enough. Kraft’s directons below)

Mix remaining cream cheese, whipped topping and sugar until well blended. Spread on top of cooled cake.

Cut into slices or attack with fork after taking lovely blog pictures

*I thought this was good. I used a bit less ginger after reading the comments but I think it could have used the full dose. I am thinking this would be good with cranberries or cherries or without the chips and adding a strusel type topping

**I am a cheater and prefer starting with a box mix. When my youngest gets old enough to not try to climb on the counters or touch a preheating oven I may reconsider..

Linked up at: Tatertots and Jello

