Tags

, , , , , , ,

scones

I stumbled upon this recipe on Pinterest a few months ago. This weekend I was digging through my 840 something food pins(Gulp!) and realized I had most of the ingredients. I slightly adapted the recipe below. (My changes are in parentheses)

From King Arthur Flour:

Scones (The recipe says 32 bite size, I got 24)

  • 2 3/4 cups Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup cold butter, cut in pats (I only used 6 Tbsp. because that is all I had)
  • 1 cup to 2 cups mini chocolate chips, or finely chopped semisweet or bittersweet chocolate (I used one heaping cup of regular size chocolate chips)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract or the flavoring of your choice (I used homemade Vanilla from my MIL)
  • 1/2 cup to 2/3 cup half and half or milk (I used skim milk because that is all we had. Definitely. Need a fattier version of milk.)

I did not make the Glaze below and honestly I thought they were fine. The Directions for the Glaze can be found here: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/scone-nibbles-recipe

Glaze

  • 3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 7 tablespoons water, enough to make a thin glaze
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla, optional

Directions

1) In a large mixing bowl, stir together all the dry ingredients.

2) Work in the butter just until the mixture is unevenly crumbly. I cut my butter into tiny rectangles and then added it a bit at a time. I used my hands and a spoon to mix.

3) Stir in the chips or finely chopped chocolate.

4) In a separate mixing bowl, blend together the eggs, vanilla and 1/2 cup half and half or milk.

5) Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients a bit at a time and stir until all is moistened and holds together. I had to add a little more milk to make it all stick though if I had used a milk with a higher fat content I doubt this would have been necessary.

6) Scrape the dough onto a well-floured work surface. Pat/roll it into an 8″ to 8 1/2″ square, a scant 3/4″ thick as much as possible. Mine was sort of lopsided. Make sure the surface underneath the dough is floured a great deal.

7) Cut the square into 2″ squares and then in half again. (I didn’t get 16 squares like the original recipe, I got about 12.)

8) Transfer the scones to a parchment-lined or well-greased baking sheet. They can be set fairly close together as they do not spread. I had to use 2 pans because I made mine bigger.

9) For best texture and highest rise, place the pan of scones in the freezer for 30 minutes, uncovered. While the scones are chilling, preheat the oven to 425°F.

0) Bake the scones for 19 to 20 minutes, or until they’re golden brown. (Mine only took about 10 minutes and they were a little burned on the bottom. Again, I do not know if that is because I used lower fat products but keep a close eye on these! Maybe clean up the mess you made while they bake!)

Overall I thought these were good but not great. I read through the comments and someone mentioned replacing the milk with orange juice. I am going to try that next time as I love the combo of orange and chocolate.

These have held up very well traveling to my work for breakfast. Just make sure you keep them in an airtight container or they become attractive looking rocks rather quickly.

Sharing at Chef In Training, All She Cooks, Desperately Seeking Sanity, Mostly Homemade Mom, six sister’s stuff, Thank You Honey

