Tags

, , , , ,

_240_360_Book.896.cover.jpg (239×360)

In the novel The Living Room by Robert Whitlow, working mom Amy Clarke tries to juggle the demands of work, family, an overbearing literary agent and spiritual life while trying to become the next big thing in the literary world. An aspiring writer who has published two novels she returns to work at law firm. A visionary she soon finds work imitating life and life imitating work. Her dreams lead to clues that crack cases and in some cases friendships as well.

A well developed novel that engages the reader but leaves them wanting more. The characters in her family all have a niche in the story that everyday readers can relate to. I appreciated the realistic details of how a working mom tries to juggle it all and that it is not all fairytales and roses to have a family and be an accomplished individual.

While this novel definitely has influences of religion I did not feel it overbearing and something that would turn someone off to the genre. There are characters I would definitely have liked more insight in to that were vital to the story. To be honest I was a bit disappointed in the ending, it felt a bit rushed and contrived.  Overall it was a book that kept me engaged till the end and I would recommend it to friends that are looking for a book that is a light read at the end of a long work day.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

