Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

tray complete

Last week we went on vacation and like any good DIY blogger I had to hit the thrift stores! They always seem better when they are not in your town.

I only went to a few stores and didn’t find too much(I am still lamenting over the new with tags Downeast Basics skirt that was way way too big) but I did pick up this wooden tray for $2.00

tray

200

I wasn’t sure what to do with it but I realized it would be perfect for my dresser and all the little odds and ends that get thrown on there.

It was a little dirty so I wiped it off with a damp cloth and took just a tiny piece of sandpaper to the one rough sticky stain on the back.

I spary painted it glossy white. I have started to love spray paint, so quick! The I decided I wanted to put a little bird on it. I had cut a die cut bird of green vinyl while staying at my Mother In Law’s but decided instead to use the outline as a stencil! I used this really pretty light blue color I scored at Lowe’s for 50 cents a sample can in the “Ooops!” paint aisle. I love a bargain!

tray complete

I think it came out pretty good! Can you tell I love chunky necklaces? I am already scheming what kind of gifts I can make out of more trays!

Quick and Easy and Frugal!

Dance Party at The Shabby Nest, The Trendy TreeHouse, Chic on a Shoestring

