Tags

, , , , , , ,

rice

I like Mexican rice. I normally ask for double rice and no beans when I go out. My lovely coworker has been trying to teach me to make authentic Mexican rice and I apparently lack the “love” ingredient because I cannot get it right.  Now she takes pity on me and brings me a container every once in a while.

This rice recipe is pretty easy and pretty much foolproof. Though I have almost burned it a bunch of times so remember to watch the stove!

  • ½ cup of water*
  • ½ cup of rice
  • ½ of a large jar of salsa. Any variety. (Winco has a generic brand I love, it has corn, black beans, etc)
  • 2 Tbsp butter

Add the butter to the skillet with the ½ cup of rice. Stir around till butter is melted and rice is a toasty color. Add the salsa and water. Let the mixture get to a rolling boil and then turn down the heat and cover.

I check this every four minutes. Sometimes I find I have to add more water as I go as the rice isn’t “fluffing” up.

Serve with your choice of toppings. I like adding avocado, cheese and crushed tortilla chips. Add a protein (meat, beans, etc) and this could easily be a one dish meal! My 20 month old tried it and liked it! You can adjust the spiciness by adjusting the level of salsa you purchase.

*You can also use chicken stock in place of the water.

Sharing the love at Chef In Training

