Tags

, , , , ,

SAMSUNGI love canvas pictures! I had seen them all around Pinterest. A true canvas picture that is 12 x 12 costs around $100.00. Since I knew I wanted about six pictures to fill my living room wall and $600.00 is SO not in my budget, I knew I needed to find a better way.

I saw this tutorial on Motherhood in Heels Blog. It looked relatively simple.

The first step was getting my pictures printed. The lovely Amy Meyerott took these family photos back in September. I printed all six pictures with a lustre finish from Costco for about 19.00. I then dragged my poor husband up from his late afternoon nap to get them exactly two hours later when they were done as he is the holder of the Costco card!

Step two was to find a board to cut and paint. We have discovered the hard way in our house that Modge Podge is not as friendly to unpainted wood. We had a picture we made on a large piece of wood hanging in our tiny family room and we decided what the heck why not recycle so we took it down and cut it into 12 by 12 squares.

We painted the squares using a bronze color so they would stand out against our latte colored walls.

We then Modge Podged the board and pressed down our photos making sure to smooth out any bubbles. Once it was dry we then did the front of the photos with the Modge Podge to make it look canvas like. We used Matte but I think any variety would work.

SAMSUNG

 Cost Breakdown:

Total project: About $30.00

Photo Printing: About $19.00

Board: free, as it was leftover, but you could use MDF which is pretty cheap

Modge Podge: $8.00 for a large bottle at Hobby Lobby..TONS left!(Cheaper if you score a coupon!)

Disposable Paintbrushes: 1.00

Paint: We had ours, but a sample size from Lowes would work: $3.00

Hope this helps! Just because a idea seems out of your budget does not mean you can not make it work!

PARTYING IT UP AT: Organize and Decorate EverythingWe are That FamilyHOMA StyleCozy Home ScenesChef In TrainingTip Junkie Tip Me TuesdayThrifty Home,Whatever goes WednesdayNot Just a HousewifeMade in a Day Lil LunaA Little TipsyThe Sasse LifeBeyond the Picket Fence, A Crafty SoireeFireflies and Jellybeans,Funky Polka Dot GiraffeTwo Yellow Birds DecorWow me WednesdayMy Girlish WhimsDelightful OrderHandy Man Crafty WomanClean and ScentsibleCraft Scrappy Happy52 MantelsLoving this Crazy LifeIts a Hodgepodge LifeA Shabby NestSassy SitesClaiming Our SpaceTatertots and JelloYoung and CraftyFunky Junk InteriorsPositively Spelndid, Skip to My Lou, Keeping it Simple, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Vintage Wanna Bee, LadyBug Blessings, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Crafty Confessions, Made in a Day, The Trendy Treehouse, ShabbyNest, Whipperberry, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Gingersnap Crafts, Accidentally Wonderful, 504 Main