Tags

, , , ,

So my son really likes Max and Ruby. If you have a munchkin under the age of five you have mostly like heard of it and its endless rotation on Nick Jr. To be honest, this is one cartoon I do not find uber annoying (unlike the Wiggles….), though I think Ruby can be a bossy little rabbit, and poor Max often gets the brunt of it.

Wow, did I really just right a paragraph psycho analyzing cartoon bunnies? I really need to get out more..but I cannot be the only ones who wonders where the heck these preschool bunnies parents are? I mean they are never around; they apparently get shipped to grandma’s house all the time. Sort of like the Muppet Babies, remember? Their mom was like two legs on the screen; at random times…I digress.

So as you can tell from my son’s previous parties, ala Jake and the Neverland Pirates, he can never pick a theme that actually has goods at the party store! We tend to do birthday parties only on the even number years and smaller family only type events on the odd number years. This wasn’t intentional, it just seems to be the way it has worked out.

I figured I could make the Max and Ruby cakes that flash through the screen at the beginning of the show. Max’s cake just reminds me of a giant dirt cup, so I knew that wouldn’t be so hard. Ruby’s was a little trickier as it had a filling and her signature pink icing is not exactly one produced by the dough boy!

So here goes, and I won’t tell if you only make a Max cake for your little boy or a Ruby cake for your little girl or vice versa. I am partial to the Max cake myself..but apparently I should stop sneaking bits of cake here and there.

I never thought a 4 year old would notice a forkful here and there, but a few nights ago his evening prayer was “Dear God, Please do not eat the cake ever, ever, again. Amen.”  Talk about Mommy Guilt!!

Max Cake Supplies:

  • 1 Box Devil’s Food Cake Mix
  • 1 canister Chocolate Frosting
  • 1 bag of Gummi Worms cut in half
  • 1 small pkg. of Oreo COOKIES, Smashed into smaller pieces (I just bought the small to-go packs that are often by the registers)

Prepare cake as instructed and pour into two 8 or 9 inch circle pans. Once the cake is cool, frost with the frosting, apply the crushed oreos and arrange the worms so they appear to be coming out of the cake.

Ruby Cake Supplies

  • 1 Box White Cake Mix
  • 1-2 Tub of white frosting
  • 2-4 Tablespoons of Strawberry Jam
  • Red Food Coloring
  • Star Sprinkles

Prepare cake as instructed and pour into two 8 or 9 inch circle pans. Scoop 2 generous scoops of frosting into a bowl and add jam, stirring until you have a fluffy filling. Once the cake is cool, spread the filling you prepared between the two layers. Then, scoop the rest of the frosting in a bowl, adding drops of red food coloring until you reach the desired pink color. Frost the cake and top with the star sprinkles!

Eat while watching Max and Ruby for maximum enjoyment!

Sharing the Cake at: Shabby Nest, Thirty Handmade Days, Fun Stuff Fridays, Functional Friday, WhipperBerryFrugalicious Friday, Country Mom Cooks, Tatertots and Jello, Young and Crafty, Show and Tell, I Heart Naptime

